This article applies to both EmbracePlus and EmbraceMini. Care Lab App screens may differ depending on the device and accessory used.
When a participant is logged out of the Care Lab App, the app will ask to Sync data and logout, which will ensure that any data still stored on your Empatica wearable is synced and uploaded before the logout is completed. The device continuously collects data and syncs it to the app via Bluetooth. If the Empatica wearable was unable to fully sync it, some data may still be stored in its onboard memory.
Logging out and selecting Sync data and logout triggers a final data sync to make sure all collected data is uploaded and associated with the currently logged-in participant. This also stops data collection, powers the Empatica wearable off, and shows "Fully synced" for the participant in the Care Lab Portal.
If Sync data and logout is not selected, any data on the device's internal memory will not sync, and the device will continue to record and store data until the memory is full. This will also result in the participant showing "Pending sync" in the Portal. Any data remaining on the Empatica wearable will be assigned to the next Participant ID that pairs the device and syncs the data, not the logged-out participant.
Please note that if you do not select Sync data and logout and then end the monitoring period of the participant in the Portal, they will not be able to log back in to sync any data still stored on the device's internal memory.
Logging out and syncing data
This is the recommended flow, and it helps ensure that no data is left behind on the device.
- Make sure the Empatica wearable is powered on and within Bluetooth range of the phone.
- Make sure the phone has an active internet connection.
- In the Care Lab App, tap on the three dots in the top-right corner and select Logout.
- When prompted, select Sync data and logout.
- The device stops collecting data while the Care Lab App syncs and uploads any remaining data still stored on the Empatica wearable.
This process may take several minutes, depending on the amount of data still in the device's memory. - A Logout completed screen will confirm the logout.
- The device powers off automatically once the process completes.
To confirm a successful logout, check the Care Lab Portal: the participant's Status changes to Paused, and Last Data Uploaded changes to Fully synced.
If you want the Empatica wearable to continue collecting data after logging the participant out:
- Make sure the phone has an active internet connection.
- In the Care Lab App, tap on the three dots in the top-right corner and select Logout.
- When prompted, select Skip data sync.
- Confirm your choice by tapping on Logout without data sync.
This will immediately log the participant out of the app. Any data still stored on the Empatica wearable will not be synced or uploaded at this time. The device will remain powered on and continue collecting data until the memory is full, or the battery is depleted.
Important: Any data remaining on the Empatica wearable will be assigned to the next Participant ID that pairs the device and syncs the data, not the logged-out participant. This may result in data being misattributed if the device is paired to a different participant.
If the logout or data sync fails
The logout process requires the Empatica wearable to stay within Bluetooth range of the phone, and a stable internet connection on the phone.
The process can fail if:
- The device goes out of Bluetooth range during data sync
- A firmware update is ongoing
- The Bluetooth connection is unstable
- The phone's internet connection drops or is unreliable
If an error occurs:
- Keep the device as close to the phone as possible (closer proximity improves Bluetooth data transfer speed)
- Ensure the phone has a stable internet connection
- Retry the logout process and select Sync data and logout again
In most cases, keeping the device nearby and retrying the process will resolve the issue.